With the 12th Luxembourg Presidency of the Council of the EU finished on 31 December 2015, a report of the main results achieved over the past six months was published on 19 January 2016.

The Luxembourg Presidency worked, in keeping with its traditions and convictions, to put European citizens at the heart of its initiatives, while ensuring that the real, direct interests of citizens are better taken account of in all EU policies.

In the Council, government ministers from each EU country meet to discuss, amend and adopt laws, and coordinate policies.

The ministers have the authority to commit their governments to the actions agreed on in the meetings.

Together with the European Parliament, the Council is the main decision-making body of the EU.

Not to be confused with: ABC of the EU institutions What does the Parliament do and what are the responsibilities of the Commission?

What do we mean with the European Council and how is it different from the Council of the European Union? Instead, the Council meets in 10 different configurations, each corresponding to the policy area being discussed.